Day Eighty (Marriage Advice)

Good Evening Friends!!!!

Last Sunday in my psychology class the professor ask the married students a question. She ask if you could give any marriage advice to a newlywed couple or a couple considering marriage, what would it be? I thought for a minute and sat quiet. I kept thinking does it really matter or help, since each individual has their own idea of marriage. A week later I thought about what I would want to say.

I’d tell the couple when I first married my husband I was head over hills for him and knew we loved each other. Within the first year of marriage all of our positive and kind words would turn into ugly and mean words. By the end of the first year we would be questioning our decision and sanity. By the second year one or both parties would lose hope and desire to stick it out. The conversation of calling it a quits would come up more frequent. At the end of the second year both of us would doubt each other’s love no matter how much we confessed our love for one another.

The third year we would take a break from each other and reflect on all the pain we put each other through. The third year we would make a decision to call it an official split or own up to our mistakes like mature adults. The hardest part is putting the pride aside to really make it work. It is sooo much easier to run away rather than face the problems head on and work through all the bull crap. A few months into the third year we would decide it is time to grow up and work through old issues and any new issues. Running would no longer be an option, and committing to those vows would save us from a lot of pain. So my advice is……Don’t give up! Just do it! Never Forget Your Spouse Is Worth It! And most importantly spouses are not perfect neither are you so if they fail show them loyalty!

 

1 Corinthians 13:4-13

4 Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant 5 or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;[a] 6 it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. 7 Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

8 Love never ends. As for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away. 11 When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways. 12 For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.

13 So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

de662d1ea050056d0d59a596bf55d364

One thought on “Day Eighty (Marriage Advice)

Leave a Reply

